Top 4 Favorite Blogs

I am pretty new to the blog game in terms of writing, but I’ve been reading them for a long time. Here are a few of my favourites:

1. Charles Poliquin’s Blog
http://www.charlespoliquin.com/Blog.aspx
Charles always write good articles that are backed up with peer reviewed literature. He has a strong opinions that may differ from many strength and conditioning trainers/nutrition experts…but he always gives solid explanations for his opinions. Often his articles are mini anatomy and physiology lessons. Worth checking out for some no nonsense training advice…but beware that most of it is very complex.

2. Kevin Neeld’s Blog
http://www.kevinneeld.com/category/blog
Kevin writes hockey specific training articles. When I first began reading him, I found him contradictory in his articles at times. But then I realized that he was presenting all sides of the argument. It took me some extra time behind an exercise physiology textbook to really understand what he was saying, as his articles can be quite technical. Nevertheless, he presents good points that are great if you’re focused on the hockey side of strength and conditioning.

3. Darryl Belfry’s Video Blog
http://www.proplaymakers.ca/videos-2-2/
This guy is amazing. He used to have all his videos free, but now he’s charging for them. You can still see some of them for free on his YouTube channel. He used to be the video coach for the LA Kings, and in watching hours and hours of videos, he began to see that there were specific skills that NHLers were very good at. He is very good at breaking down exactly what those skills consist of, and turning it into a drill. His approach to drill creation and coaching has influenced me immensely. He’s also able to explore and breakdown the tactical and decision making side of the game as well. He is the type of thinking that does not take things at face value, and that searches for the meaning and reason behind the things that he does. If you can stomach a few extra dollars, and a chunk of your day watching his videos, I highly recommend it.

4. Zen Habits by Leo Babauta
http://zenhabits.net
This is nothing hockey or training related, but instead is about lifestyle design. This is a topic I’ve always been interested in, even though I don’t like the term “lifestyle design” (but I think that’s what it’s called, so I’ll use it). Either way, the articles focus on being productive, content, and peaceful in your day to day life. He has an interesting perspective that is worth considering when it comes to goals, but not one that I necessarily agree with. In any case, it’s always good to keep an open mind to new perspectives. He also has some pretty solid advice that can be easily applied to your life.

Those are the blogs that I regularly visit. Perhaps you’ll find them interesting from time to time too!

Published by

Jason at Train 2.0

2.0 was born from the belief that 1.0 isn't good enough. The way we're approaching coaching, training, and development for hockey needs to be rethought. My own lessons have led me to rethink the way it's being done and I can't help but write about it. I'm writing for my 12, 13, 14, 15 year old self who didn't have this resource. I'm writing for parents who are putting their dollars and trust in coaches who are wasting all of it. I'm writing because I hope it can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

