Injunctification

Injunctification: big word…but what does it mean? How does our obsessions with the way things were cause us to make poor decisions that impact our future?
Injunctification is the motivated desire to see status quo (the way things are) as the way things ought to be.
I found this an interesting word and concept mostly because I see it as a prevalent thought pattern.
I have been known as a person who goes through “phases”. I research something religiously, experiment with it, and then incorporate what works into my day-to-day routine, while discarding what doesn’t. I find that a lot of people find this sort of approach to be “unnatural”, and they don’t understand why I have the motivation to look under the hood of my life and experiment. When you ask people to explain phenomena that’s happening in their life, they’re apt to use folklore explanations rather than carefully examining it.
I find this to be the case with many hockey coaches and players. As someone who is passionate about learning and teaching, it is sort of upsetting when trying to explain to a player WHY they are doing a chosen exercise…their eyes just glaze over and want to just do it a way they are comfortable with.
I also find this to be the case with many hockey coaches who prefer to make quick and easy decisions about the best approach to coaching. Usually, the quick and easy decision is relying on what coaches did in the past. Very few coaches are motivated to put the effort to THINK HARD about their approach to coaching.
What’s nice about the word “injunctification” is that it puts a name, a term to a phenomenon that has bugged me for a while.
The top athletes are very in touch with themselves and willing to ruthlessly throw away any sort of training that does not help their game. Take LeBron James for example: he completely reinvented the way that he plays in order to be a better player. Bruce Lee also said “it’s not daily addition, but daily subtraction that makes excellence. Hack away at the inessential”
Published by

Jason at Train 2.0

2.0 was born from the belief that 1.0 isn't good enough. The way we're approaching coaching, training, and development for hockey needs to be rethought. My own lessons have led me to rethink the way it's being done and I can't help but write about it. I'm writing for my 12, 13, 14, 15 year old self who didn't have this resource. I'm writing for parents who are putting their dollars and trust in coaches who are wasting all of it. I'm writing because I hope it can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

