Team Confidence

I’m writing right now for my team that I will be coaching in May and June. It is a team of midget players that will be competing at a tournament in Whistler at the end of June. All the players are AAA or higher players, and most are wanting to play at a higher level. My mission in coaching these players is to provide them with useful coaching for their upcoming careers. I want to give them information, skills, and insights that will help them make and excel on a major midget or junior team come mid-august of this year. Part of this will be that I’m going to institute a rather radical system. I know that if the players buy in and have confidence in the system, they will have confidence in their ability to win games in our upcoming tournament. This article will describe my model for team confidence, what it looks like and what factors contribute to team confidence (more technically known as team efficacy).

Image

Components of the Model

Individual Belief

  • Does an individual player believe that he or she can execute the system that the coach has asked them to?
  • Does an individual player want to execute the system? Do they want to learn it or do they want to do their own thing?

Belief in Execution Ability

  • Collective belief of the players that the team as a whole can execute the system that the coach has asked them to execute.
  • This may change depending on various variables: quality of opponent, confidence with ice conditions, familiarity with rink, comfort with competing at different altitudes or times

Belief in System

  • Do the players believe that if their system is executed perfectly, they will win games that they play?
  • (This belief interacts with randomness and chance, since even perfectly executed game plans that are strategically and tactically superior to another’s is still victim to bad luck)

I suggest that if we were to rate each of the three factors out of 10, the closer that a team is to 30/30, the higher their “team confidence”. Ultimately, a coach should strive for a 30/30 in “team confidence”. I suggest that a coaches ability to do so relies on:

  • Being up to date on the latest tactics and strategies. Being aware of which ones work.
  • Being innovative
  • Being clear in the communication of their system
  • Executing practice plans that reinforce perfect execution of their system

What do you think? Are there any other factors that might contribute to team confidence?

Published by

Jason at Train 2.0

2.0 was born from the belief that 1.0 isn't good enough. The way we're approaching coaching, training, and development for hockey needs to be rethought. My own lessons have led me to rethink the way it's being done and I can't help but write about it. I'm writing for my 12, 13, 14, 15 year old self who didn't have this resource. I'm writing for parents who are putting their dollars and trust in coaches who are wasting all of it. I'm writing because I hope it can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

