Plan before you go! Advice on starting your off-season training program

I’m simultaneously planning several things in my life right now:

  • My summer training
  • My final studying plan
  • My business plan

I was about to embark on studying something that I thought I needed to study for my final…but then I checked the exam guide and found an already formulated study guide that saved me about 40minutes of work. This led me to think of a couple of meaningful quotes to me…

“Being busy is not the same as being productive. In fact, being busy is a form of laziness — lazy thinking and indiscriminate action. Forget about the start-up overwork ethic that people wear as a badge of honour – get analytical. I’m not going to say “work smarter; don’t work harder,” as I’m fine with hard work…but only as long as it’s applied to the right things.” – Tim Ferris, author of bestselling books “4-Hour Workweek, 4-Hour Body, 4-Hour Chef

And here’s another:

“Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe” – Abraham Lincoln

Your goal is to best prepare yourself for your season next year. So start by planning, and do a really good job of it, and ensure that you are successful. You don’t want to spend all your effort on something that won’t lead to you getting better. 

Here are my steps to planning your off-season:

  • Find someone to trust. Make sure they have playing experience, expertise coaching, and know lot’s of people. Question their credentials and where their motivations lie in providing you with advice before considering their advice as valid. Ask many people that you trust and consider all of their advice together, then decide which advice to heed.
  • Do a needs analysis with them. Just ask them where they think you should spend most of your attention developing this summer.
  • When you figure out what needs your attention (TENERGY), figure out the best way to develop that need. Search youtube, the internet, ask experts.
  • Spend as much time as you can on the area that needs your attention. You should still spend time developing other important areas for your development, but don’t get hung up on them. Always remind yourself where you most need to focus your attention.
  • If you’re confident in your plan, stick to it!
  • After you’ve executed your plan, evaluate its effectiveness. Use that information to make next year’s plan better.

Goodluck!

 

Published by

Jason at Train 2.0

2.0 was born from the belief that 1.0 isn't good enough. The way we're approaching coaching, training, and development for hockey needs to be rethought. My own lessons have led me to rethink the way it's being done and I can't help but write about it. I'm writing for my 12, 13, 14, 15 year old self who didn't have this resource. I'm writing for parents who are putting their dollars and trust in coaches who are wasting all of it. I'm writing because I hope it can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

