Superfood Taco Salad – Ready in 20 minutes or less

Yesterday, I have no clue why, but I just went wild in the kitchen. At lunch time, I got really creative with a salad dressing, and then at dinner, I got creative again. Result: The Superfood Taco Salad. I had enough for dinner, and seconds at lunch the next day. So you could say it feeds two hockey players, or about 3-4 normal people…all in 20 minutes. Here’s what you need:

IMG_6969
All you need is one of these and…

  • Frying Pan
  • Ground Beef (Less healthy) or Ground Bison (More healthy) – 1/2-1lb
  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Alfalfa Sprouts
  • Fresh Salsa (or normal salsa if that’s more your budget and style)
  • 1/2 of a Red Bell Pepper – Diced
  • Taco Seasoning
  • Optional: Tortilla Chips (Less healthy)
  • Optional: Cheese (Less healthy)
  • Optional: Avocado (More healthy)
  • Optional: Sour Cream (Less healthy)

Directions:

  1. Fry up the ground beef in your fry pan, then add the taco seasoning once it is cooked.
  2. Remove (lot’s…because it shrivels) of Kale from the leaf. Leave the stalky bits in the bag and focus on the leafy parts. Tear small strips of the leafy kale and mix it in with the ground beef. Boom – your salad is now a “superfood” salad.
  3. Place the taco/kale mixture into a bowl and top with cheese (if you so choose), your salsa fresca (or otherwise), the red pepper. I’d suggest slicing and dicing avocado and adding it to the mix too.
  4. Tear up your spinach into bite sized pieces, and throw it on top (instead of lettuce, we get to use another superfood). Grab some sprouts, and throw them on top too.
  5. Finally, use your tortilla chips to scoop your taco salad, or crush them and throw them in the pile.
IMG_6975
Finished Product: Superfood Taco Salad

Note, you could also use these ingredients as part of a hard shell taco creation too. Why am I publishing this meal? For one, it was ridiculously fast. Second, it wasn’t messy. Third, I made it healthy by avoiding a few common ingredients (flour tortillas, iceberg lettuce, normal canned salsa, found beef), and included some nutrition enhancing ingredients (kale, spinach, ground bison, avocado, pepper. You’ll notice that in the ingredients list, I note what I perceive to be healthier ingredients. I think you can take this recipe and customize it to your budget, what you have in the house, and what you have time for. But the key is integrating the kale and spinach into a meal normally void of dark green, leafy vegetables, and hiding them in a delicious package. Enjoy -Jason

Published by

Jason at Train 2.0

2.0 was born from the belief that 1.0 isn't good enough. The way we're approaching coaching, training, and development for hockey needs to be rethought. My own lessons have led me to rethink the way it's being done and I can't help but write about it. I'm writing for my 12, 13, 14, 15 year old self who didn't have this resource. I'm writing for parents who are putting their dollars and trust in coaches who are wasting all of it. I'm writing because I hope it can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

