Elite Athletes can control their body temperature at will – you can too!

I used to jokingly tell people that “elite athletes can control their body temperature at will” all the time when they complained of being hot or cold. I’m pretty sure I picked it up from my uncle Ken (Founder of 4th Dimension Hockey School). 

Even though I would say this jokingly, I always considered that it was a real possibility. I’d heard the urban myths of Yogis or Taoist monks meditating under waterfalls or whatever, so I figured it must be physically possible. 

Enter Wim Hof: I started hearing about him on the (obviously) Tim Ferriss podcast, and then listened to him on the Ben Greenfield podcast. His idea is interesting, which is that ordinary people can tap into and control their autonomous nervous system, thus controlling their body temperature, but also hastening healing. He also claims that his method vastly improves performance. 

I’ve also started taking cold showers regularly which I find invigorating in the morning, and helps me sleep at night. So I consider the possibility that his breathing technique and method could be legit. I’m sharing in case some of my readers want to find out. I’m experimenting with parts of the technique myself. 

See here for his breathing technique. 

See here for the Wim Hof Method.

Published by

Jason at Train 2.0

2.0 was born from the belief that 1.0 isn't good enough. The way we're approaching coaching, training, and development for hockey needs to be rethought. My own lessons have led me to rethink the way it's being done and I can't help but write about it. I'm writing for my 12, 13, 14, 15 year old self who didn't have this resource. I'm writing for parents who are putting their dollars and trust in coaches who are wasting all of it. I'm writing because I hope it can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

